Review for Crave Me by M. Robinson

Happy Monday everyone! I hope you all had a great weekend! I know that Monday I try to do a random information post and save the book review for Wednesday but I read Crave Me over the weekend and I could not wait to talk about it with you guys!!

*Warning: It should be noted that there are sex scenes, violence, language, and possible triggers around substance use and abuse. I will take this moment to shamelessly confess that I don’t actually read sex scenes in books. I just am not all that interested in them and really I don’t need them to make the story great. I will definitely not judge people who love them though 🙂 I just thought it would be fair to let you know I won’t post things like “Holy cow that scene was hot!” haha

Okay now to the important stuff!

They say in order to find yourself you have to go home.
What if home was what you’re running from?
Where did that leave you?

Always on the other side of the fence.
Always looking in.
Always wishing you were someone you couldn’t be.

Until one day you meet her.
The one.
She was my high, but she was also…
My demise. “

(book description from Goodreads)

This book was amazing! It is a standalone within a series. I love those types of books because you don’t actually have to read all of them (YOU WILL WANT TO!) to understand what is happening in each one. This particular book for example, is book number 4 in the series and while I have also read book 1 it didn’t change the flow or understanding of Crave Me. I would still suggest that you read them all because they are great, but no pressure because individually they are amazing also (okay, a little pressure because, come on!! Who doesn’t want a good book to read!).

I am always a big fan of books that show addiction in a realistic light, not just surface level problems. This book shows all of the gritty hard truth not only for the addict but for the people who love him. The lead up, the life, the withdrawals, and every ugly step in-between.This is where the trigger warning is really important because they do talk about how he is using drugs (such as shooting up) and other such descriptions. This book is well written you guys so make sure you’re okay with that kind of scene. Okay okay! Mother-type rant over!

Austin is the smooth talking guy who will do anything to protect his love, Briggs. The type of main character that is swoon worthy in every way possible. We watch as he goes from the fun-loving guy who will do anything for Briggs to this shell of a man who doesn’t really have much left in him other than the need to take care of his cravings. The best part about this book is that you get a lot of history on who Austin is and why he is the way he is. This is done in such a great way that even if you read the first three books you don’t feel like you are re-reading the same information over and over.

Briggs is a girl that you find yourself rooting for from the beginning. With her tragic history and unusual (to say the least!) life no matter what is going on you want her to be okay. She is a strong girl who is not fully aware of how much she is capable of doing. She overcomes many obstacles in life that would cripple others. I love Briggs and everything she brings to the table and there are a few key scenes in the book where I find myself wanting to stand up and defend her because Austin is not there to do it! Robinson really does a great job of making the reader fall in love with her characters.

I give this book 4 stars! The characters pull you in and make you want to find out what happens to them. This is not the usual happily ever after! If you haven’t read anything else by M. Robinson

One thought on “Review for Crave Me by M. Robinson

Leave a Reply

