Review of Only for You by E.L. Todd

Happy Monday you guys!! Sorry about Friday- we went camping this weekend and I spaced that Friday was a blog day! Won’t happen again (or at least I hope it doesn’t happen because, hello! Life is sneaky so I won’t promise)! We decided to take Monday off of work and now we are cleaning the whole house but because I love you all so much I decided to selflessly take a break from cleaning to bring you a much overdue review! (also I really hate cleaning… so much!) Anyways! Here we go!!

*It should be noted that I read this book from a collection that I received as part of E.L. Todd’s review team and I haven’t finished the other two yet! (although I bought them before I was on the review team lol)

Only For You:

When Scarlet realized Penelope was dumping Sean, her best friend, she was devastated. Penelope was the love of his life, the woman of his dreams. Scarlet knew how far her best friend was going to fall and she had to catch him. Scarlet became Sean’s rock and helped him through a very painful breakup, but her own hidden desires bubbled to the surface in the process. When they finally gave in and slept together, she thought it was the start of their new relationship. Unfortunately, Sean didn’t feel the same.

Humiliated and heartbroken, Scarlet moved across the country and found what she least expected. She rekindled her damaged relationship with her brother, who she hadn’t spoken to in a year, and her brother’s best friend was attractive and interesting. Their relationship was natural and unforced, and she was immediately drawn to him. Would she be able to get over Sean, forget about him, by sleeping with Cortland, or would that just be another repeated mistake?

-Description from Amazon

The Good, the bad, and everything else:
The story line itself is good, actually very good! Who hasn’t thought of running away from their problems at one time or another in their life? (if you say not you then you may be a liar, but I am not here to judge) That  is exactly what Scarlet does and I honestly don’t blame her one bit. It seems like one thing after another just keeps happening and Scarlet finds herself alone and overwhelmed. Enter big brother Ryan to save the day! I think one thing that was my favorite about this book was the relationship between Scarlet and Ryan. Being an older sister with three younger brothers (i know!) I found myself laughing and shaking my head at the siblings interactions because they felt so familiar.

Something that I was not a huge fan of was the sex scenes. Granted I don’t prefer books with a lot of sex (and this was not one of those books) I understand that most books have them and most people read them. I am not upset that they were in there because I get it- that’s what people want. But these scenes were almost like reading about a robot having sex. They didn’t flow very well and I found them more funny than sexy. That being said it was a surprise because the rest of the book is really well done! Overall the writing was really great and Scarlet grows up a lot!

The Recommendation:
While I am still in the middle of reading book two and haven’t started book three as of yet this series has been a fun read so far. I give this book 3.5 stars (only because of the robot sex) and would recommend adding it to your summer reads. It is a fun and quick read about growing up and not giving up. Buy it at the link below 🙂

Or get all three in the bundle here:

Want to stalk the author? Check here:

  1. Amazon Author Page
  2. Facebook Author Page
  3. Goodreads author page

As always leave me any questions or comments you may have and I will be sure to get back to you!! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

