Review of Dusk by Maureen Miller

Hello and happy Friday before a long weekend (for those of you that don’t have to work) and welcome back to our Friday Review. Sorry I have missed the past couple… I am so busy lately with family and just living life! And learning to be a Beta reader which is pretty crazy in and of itself. But regardless! Here we are!! Woot! So this week I have a pretty amazing book that I am super excited to write about! This is the first book I have read by Maureen Miller and I was impressed! Let’s get down to it!!

As a young girl, Amanda Newton witnessed the brutal murder of her parents. As an adult she is targeted by their murderer.

Beautiful. Reserved. Mysterious. Amanda Newton, the CEO of BLUE-LINK, epitomizes control with her adept handling of the global company. But that control is threatened with a series of attacks against her.

Ray Gordon, a former Navy SEAL is looking to open his own security firm. One more contracting job with BLUE-LINK would complete the funding. When he is hired to protect Amanda Newton, the Ice Queen herself, he never bargained on falling for her.

Amanda has something her attacker wants. He has waited over twenty years to claim it, and he will destroy anyone close to her to get it.

…but he’s met his match in Ray Gordon.

This is a standalone novel. You do not have to read the others in the series.

-Description per the Amazon page

The Good:
Okay people! This is the very first time I have heard of Maureen Miller or her books and that makes me super sad because she is simply amazing! From the very beginning of the book I was pulled in. The writing is done very well and I never once found myself pulled out of the story wondering “what the heck is she trying to say here?” Which makes me so happy because I maybe find this to be one of the things I look for most in a story! I read to disappear into another place for a short period of time and with this book I did.

There was enough suspense to keep the reader (me duh, I just like to try and sound fancy sometimes because who knows what people will read this and wonder if I should review their books! What if it is some fabulous writer who just needs me because of my amazing reviews!? Okay okay sorry!) involved in the story but it is not overdone where you find yourself laughing at how ridiculous the book has gotten. The plot flows well and really connects together. There aren’t holes that make you wonder what just happened.

The characters. Oh the characters. The lovely Ice Queen and her hot body guard are just perfect. The back and forth is really great to read and I love how well the author showed the slow progress into trusting each other for these two characters. The bad guy in our story was fabulous and I really liked the change up from your average everyday bad guy. I won’t give away more because you know I hate spoilers but trust me! It was perfect!

The Bad:
I can honestly say there wasn’t really anything bad about this book. When the description says stand alone it means stand alone. I know that sometimes book descriptions say that and then you feel a little lost because you are missing pieces from other books but that is not the case here. It is fabulously written to pick this book up and just read. It was also a fairly quick read that makes it fun for a day at the pool or beach.

The Recommendation:
Definitely add this  book to your #TBR list this summer! At only $2.99 for the ebook it is really worth it! I give this book 5 STARS without any reservations and I cannot wait to read more by Maureen Miller.

Buy the book here!!

 

Want to know where to stalk this fabulous author? Look no further!

  1. Facebook Author page
  2. Amazon Author page (you know, in case you want to see what other fabulous things she has written)
  3. Goodreads Page

As always let me know what you guys think or if you have questions!!

Leave a Reply

