Review of Neanderthal Seeks Human by Penny Reid

Hello and Happy Monday my lovely book friends 🙂 🙂 I hope everyone had a fantabulous weekend spent with people they love ❤ This was a great relaxing weekend with a little bit of training thrown in for fun haha. But I did manage to get some reading in and thanks to my  new book buddy I finally read Neanderthal Seeks Human by Penny Reid! Such a great choice!! So without further ado here we go!!

There are three things you need to know about Janie Morris: 1) She is incapable of engaging in a conversation without volunteering TMTI (Too Much Trivial Information), especially when she is unnerved, 2) No one unnerves her more than Quinn Sullivan, and 3) She doesn’t know how to knit.

After losing her boyfriend, apartment, and job in the same day, Janie Morris can’t help wondering what new torment fate has in store. To her utter mortification, Quinn Sullivan- aka Sir McHotpants- witnesses it all then keeps turning up like a pair of shoes you lust after but can’t afford. The last thing she expects is for Quinn- the focus of her slightly, albeit harmless, stalkerish tendencies- to make her an offer she can’t refuse.

-Book description from Amazon

The Good:
Okay so I apparently had this book sitting on my kindle for basically forever. Then a friend and I were discussing books we were reading and she mentioned Penny Reid’s other books about dudes and beards (well its more specific than that but whatever) and said that I should read Neanderthal Seeks Human because Penny is hilarious. I am so happy I FINALLY got around to reading this book!! The main character Janie is a girl after my own heart! She is so perfectly nerdy/awesome that during the whole book I was thinking of ways I could be more like her!
“she said I owned the clothes of a radiologist and the shoes of an OB/GYN, which is like the medical doctor equivalent of saying that I dressed like a librarian with a propensity for the fuck-me boots”
I mean come on! With quotes like that who wouldn’t love this nerdy book? I think that Janie is one of the most lovable and relatable characters I have ever read! She is full of random information and sporadic thoughts. Basically a girl after my own heart. The best part is that the information is searchable so you know the author put a lot of time into her writing. Not to mention the whole comic book nerd thing ❤ swoon! All around fabulous! The characters were people you either wanted to be (total dibs on Janie) or wanted to be friends with! I am also a big fan of the fact that the sex scenes are just quick little blips that don’t actually say what happened. It is refreshing to read a hilarious nerd book that doesn’t have a lot of very descriptive sexy time. I would go so far as to give this book SIX STARS!

The Bad:
I can honestly say that there wasn’t anything about this book that I did not enjoy. The writing was well done and reading the book was so much fun! I feel like I don’t always give a lot of details on books but I don’t want to spoil anything for people so I just really want you guys to know that this book is worth reading!! So good!

The Recommendation:
Well this one is easy guys! Go get the book! This awesome FIVE STAR read is free on amazon right now so if you aren’t sure about the book (obviously you skipped to the end of the review without reading it) you get the first one to suck you in for FREE before handing over all of your money for the rest of the series 😉
Here you go people! Free book here!!!

READ IT!! Soooo good!!

 

Want to know where to find the hilarious Penny Reid?! Well here are some places to look:

  1. Blog
  2. Twitter
  3. Facebook
  4. Goodreads
  5. Insta
Leave a Reply

