Author Interview with the Amazing Maggie Way!

Hey guys! Sorry  for the delayed post! I forgot I had a training for work today and apparently don’t know how to schedule a post- or save it for that matter… But who cares because I have a surprise!! I convinced author Maggie Way to let me practice my author interview on her! So for your reading pleasure I present to you Maggie Way!

Maggie Way

Isn’t she so adorable!

 

Author Blurb
Maggie Way is your typical city gal who hails from Sydney, Australia. She loves drinking ridiculous amounts of wine, making her own beauty products from scratch, and traveling around the world while munching on cheese and chocolate. She lives with her real-life happily ever after, while fantasizing about all her hot fictional book boyfriends on the side.

She is also mommy to a little Maltese who may or may not be named after a famous vampire lover. In case you were wondering, no, she will never ever not in a million years write a vampire hero. She prefers her men to be true-to-life even when they just live inside her brain and on the pages of her books.

She writes stories with heat, humor, and lots of heart and is more than happy to say what the rest of us are thinking, and sometimes what we’re not. Wanna connect with Maggie? Either hop the next plane to Sydney, or stop by her website at http://maggiewayauthor.com/. Your move.

Join the Maggie Way Reading Club for previews, hot new releases, and other special goodies. When you sign up, you get a free copy of the sexy romance short STRICTLY UNPROFESSIONAL! Sign up at http://luckyred.activehosted.com/f/5
Link to my website (Instead of the About Me Page, I’ll link them to the home page that links books and free excerpts as I’ve given the blurb) http://maggiewayauthor.com/

And now to the questions!

Briana: I know that on your blog you touch a little on how you go into writing but what made you decide that you wanted to publish your work?

Maggie: I think it started with the fact that I knew I was going to write so much more beyond the initial books I first started writing. I thought ‘hey, I’ve got some publishable stories here and it’s opened the floodgates to a heck of a lot more’. For a good month or two, I was tossing up between trying to get it traditionally published or indie but the signs kept pointing to indie. I’m a fast person and like to work at a fast pace with everything so thought, why not get into the game and learn as much as possible, as quickly as possible? Why not get the books out there and see where this takes me? I don’t regret it at all, I’ve only in this for three months but the crash course I’ve given myself has been phenomenal.

Q2. Have you always wanted to be an author? And if not or if you could not be an author what would you want to be?

I didn’t actually! I was always a reader first and foremost – started reading romances when I was thirteen, and it was the only genre that really stuck with me. But then only last year I started putting pen to paper and I couldn’t believe how natural it felt, and I haven’t looked back since. I’m partly surprised I can call myself one to be honest – I still like to think of myself as a storyteller that is now getting paid to do what I love. But now that I’m doing this every single day, I can’t think of myself as anything else but an author.
IF I can’t be a writer, I would love to be a movie or food critic. Or both – maybe I can critique a three course French meal while watching the latest Channing Tatum movie. As long as there’s lots of wine and cheese, I’m happy.

Q3. Do you have a writing quirk?

With every story I write, I’ll firstly think of the critical scenes I am craving to write in the story, a specific ‘something’ that must happen and that I must add. Whether it’s a confrontational that leads to the first kiss, a funny awkward scene that leads them not wanting to talk to each other, or even a particular line/joke. I start with that and then build the story around it.
Continuing on the particular line/joke, every day I tend to come up with a new line/phrase/joke that I go ‘ahh’ that has to go in. Sometimes it’s for somewhere right at the end, or somewhere right at the first chapter. This tends to happen as I go through the second and third drafts and it might not be super productive, it’s a quirk that (hopefully) leads to a much better final product!

Q4. What was the hardest part of writing the Entangle Me series?

Definitely the conflict and putting Lacey through the heartache that she goes through with Tristan. When I first started writing the series I always had the ending in mind, but it was getting them there that was the challenge, keeping the tension and conflicts fresh and raw all through the seven books.  I hate putting my characters through the ringer, and the ‘sadder’ scenes are always the most difficult and emotional to write. Of course it leads to the climax, so it’s all worth it in the end!
*
if you don’t know the Entangle Me series check out my review of book 1 Review of Sydney: book 1 of Entangle Me by Maggie Way

Q5. What is one thing about your writing that you feel like people should know?

I’m not interested in writing to the market, or writing the hottest trend right now. I’ll only write the best love stories I can, the ones that I would be proud to call my own and one I would personally read myself. If someone was to come across my books for the first time this is what they need to know about my writing – my stories are first and foremost romance, but there is a whole lot of tension, heart and humor in there. I imbue a lot of dramatic flair in all my words and I believe the best type of love is the one that builds over time. I won’t be having the two leads getting it on by the third page!
I grew up on romance, and I really want to do the genre justice because I think it gets a lot of flack, whereas I believe it’s the best genre still!

Q6. What cultural value do you see in writing/reading/storytelling/etc.?

I think it’s putting a smile on someone’s face, someone I’ve never met. Or a laugh, or a pang of nervousness when they get to a cliffhanger.  Whenever I get a review or feedback like that, it reminds me why I love writing, and why I want to keep writing. I’m sure a lot of authors think and feel the same way, they just love to escape into another world and share it with readers. With all the seriousness and reality that life brings you, there’s nothing better than to temporarily escape into well-written story, of any genre. 

Q7. What are some ways in which you promote your work? Have you found anything in specific that is always your go to?

At this stage, doing joint promos with other authors has been helping lots. Not only do I have lots of fun meeting other wonderful authors and getting to know their works, I get to interact with avid romance readers too! Aside from advertising, the main thing I’m looking to do right now is build my following and that includes building my mailing list. I’m also looking to get more involved with the blogging community so you’ve been a fantastic first start 🙂

Q8. What projects are you working on at the present or what do your plans for future projects include?

I’m currently working on a trilogy, the tentative title is Winter’s Thorne. It’s a second chances steamy romance, partly inspired by the Notebook. They are full length works, my babies that I have been obsessing over! I actually started writing the first story before writing Entangle Me – I was taking quite a bit of time, obsessing over the story that Entangle Me was a fun getaway to finish off. I’m on the sequel right now, about half way done.
As of this week, I’ve just started writing a standalone – a boss and assistant love story. So my future plans include my Winter’s Thorne trilogy and several stand alone.

Q9. Who is your book boyfriend?

Oooh, tough one. Although I tend to write more mature male heroes in their mid-late twenties, my book boyfriend would have to be Etienne St Clair from Anna and the French Kiss. He is so damn cute sweet, cool and confident despite his short stature and had a great attitude for life and love. And I love his little rants about history. Completely charmed me right off the bat, he’s like that awesome first boyfriend every girl would love to have.

Q10. If you could meet any one person living or dead who would it be and why?

I would get too star-struck to meet anyone I admire, I would be reduced to a nervous puddle! But if I had to meet somebody it would have to be the Dalai Lama – I could always use some zen in my life and he would be the perfect source for it. I love his approached and chilled attitude to life and could always use some tips from the man himself.

Q11. If you could make everyone read one book what book would you pick?

The Notebook. It’s a classic, and so simple in itself but I think everyone can’t deny the beauty of a good solid romance. It’s beautiful!

So there you have it! The wonderful Maggie Way! If you want to know more about Maggie be sure to check out her website here!

And be sure to check out my review Review of Sydney: book 1 of Entangle Me by Maggie Way for all of her other social media links 🙂 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!! See you all Friday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

