Review of the Raven by Sylvain Reynard

Hey guys!! Super late post, I know! But we are talking vampires tonight!! I haven’t read a good vampire book in so long and I can shamelessly admit I am now at this exact moment watching The Vampire Diarys and maybe having a couple of drinks! Yay! Happy Friday! So let’s get down to the fun stuff and talk books!

Raven Wood spends her days at Florence’s Uffizi gallery restoring Renaissance art. But an innocent walk home after an evening with friends changes her life forever. When she intervenes in the senseless beating of a homeless man, his attackers turn on her, dragging her into an alley. Raven is only semiconscious when their assault is interrupted by a cacophony of growls followed by her attackers’ screams. Mercifully, she blacks out, but not before catching a glimpse of a shadowy figure who whispers to her . . .

Cassita vulneratus.

When Raven awakes, she is inexplicably changed. Upon returning to the Uffizi, no one recognizes her. More disturbingly, she discovers that she’s been absent an entire week. With no recollection of her disappearance, Raven learns that her absence coincides with one of the largest robberies in Uffizi history–the theft of a set of priceless Botticelli illustrations. When the police identify her as their prime suspect, Raven is desperate to clear her name. She seeks out one of Florence’s wealthiest and most elusive men in an attempt to uncover the truth. Their encounter leads Raven to a dark underworld whose inhabitants kill to keep their secrets . . .

-Book description on Amazon

I should pause the tv because I have no idea how I will get this post done with so many vampires!! Okay okay!

So my kindle and I are on a break because I LOVE actually real physical books and I have had the Raven by Sylvain Reynard on my shelf for at least 6 months if not more. I am a dork and decided not to read the back of the book so I went in blind (and apparently oblivious to the front blip) and thinking I was reading something based on Edgar Allan Poe’s work The Raven and what a surprise I got! But the awesome part of this surprise was how good the book was! I thought it started off a little slow so I wasn’t sure if I could get into it but by chapter 3 I was hooked. The writing is so well done that I found myself pulled into the book the characters were simply great! Raven was a girl that I think most people can easily love and feel drawn to from the start. Of course there is the ever present brooding old vampyre but even he is likable. I think one of my favorite things about this book is the slow and steady pace it maintains. There is no insta-love to be found here and that is a bit refreshing. It was like reading an adult vampire book and for that I was grateful. It was really refreshing and fun to read.

So my recommendation for you lovely followers is- go buy the book! Definitely 4 out of 5 stars. I only say this because usually a 5 star is something I will read again and again and I feel like this one was good the first round but probably not a double read. I only feel it is fair to warn you guys- HUGE CLIFFHANGER! Like middle of a moment cliffhanger and you should be prepared. I cannot wait to read book 2!

I wish my post was longer guys but it IS Friday night and I am definitely distracted by the beautiful vampires on tv. Hello Steffen and your lovely brother Damon 😉

 

Buy the Raven below on that cute picture! (I am apparently obligated to tell you I am an affiliate 😉 )

Want to find out more about the author? Check out below!

  1. Facebook Author page
  2. Instagram
  3. Goodreads

Have a great night guys!!

Leave a Reply

