Friday Post that is not about books…

Happy Friday Word Nerds! I hope you all have something amazing planned for your weekend!

I know that today is not Wednesday, which is when I normally post my random stuff, but this morning something kind of awesome happened and I feel like as a mom who knows a lot of moms that I would share it today because honestly, I needed this. A lot. So here is my Friday post not about books but about being a mom.

Allison.JPG

This is my middle monster. Middle A is a wild child just like her father. She will try anything at least once and if she doesn’t get hurt to the point of not being able to get up she will try it again. I have, on no less than 1,938,382,008 occasions, reminded her that I will not be driving her to the ER on any given day.

Last night we had open house for this wild animal and her older sister- A1 (she hates when I call her that but she can’t tell me what to do! I made her!) and I learned something amazing. I learned that my daughter, who I am always worried about because she is a wild animal that happens to also be a middle child (a recipe for disaster if I have ever seen one), feels pretty, thinks that she is smart, and a good friend. She wrote those things about herself. This is the moment that I looked at her father (yes- my husband) and realized that for all of the times we have felt like we are horrible parents we have done at least one or two things right. And not just right but FREAKING AMAZING!

In a world where bullying is huge (thanks social media- although I still love you dang it!!) and everyone hates the way they look we have managed to raise a girl who thinks that she is pretty. Not only does she think this- but she feels good enough about this information that she tells others that it is something she believes is a good quality about herself. Now don’t get me wrong, this is not about raising a vain daughter that knows she is it. This is about raising a kid who is confident. My Middle A will pick an outfit like the one pictured above and she will wear it with a skip in her step and a smile on her adorable toothless face.

I have stopped picking clothes for all three of the girl monsters under my care long ago. Let’s be real here. There are a lot of freaking girls in my house with one lonely overpowered man. I don’t have time to make everyone match. And the few times I tried to pick Middle A clothes she simply tossed them in the dirty laundry and picked something much better herself. My husband and A1 are very proud of their ability to pick matching clothes for themselves and they love to look fabulous. Even Baby A is jumping on that train and will spend 20 minutes picking the most sparkly outfit to look fabulous in. And honestly they all crush it. But what is one of my favorite things about Middle A is that she will pick whatever are her favorite pieces that day and she will wear them all together with pride. She cares zero percent what other people think about her choices in attire and even in just a picture of her running away (she is basically a 13 year old trapped in a 7 year old’s body) you can see the happiness she has. I want to be more like her when I grow up. She has a heart of gold. She will love on others when they need it and I am told that she will wander around class making sure everyone is good (which apparently you aren’t supposed to do while the teacher is trying to teach but I won’t judge- I find I have the same problem) and she has kind words for others.

I think one of my most favorite stories about my Middle A was from when she was about 3 and her baby sister had just been born. Baby A was a little sick and couldn’t leave the hospital with me. I was crushed. I had never left any of my brand new tiny babies alone at a big huge hospital before. My husband drove me to my mom’s house to pick up our big monsters and when my mom asked how I was I cried. A lot. And my sweet Middle A walked over to me, handed me her most coveted blanket (Dots), and put her head on my shoulder while she rubbed my back. She was three and she already knew how to show love and compassion for someone that was hurting. She sat on my lap and let me squeeze her for about 10 minutes without a single complaint. What 3 year old kid does that?!?! Oh yeah, my amazing Middle A.

Besides bragging about the awesome kid I have gotten to be a mom to the point of this post was to remind all parents that we can make a difference in our kids lives. All we need to do is love our kids and support them. Remind them how awesome they are and let them know we believe in them and will always have their back. So what if we forget their jersey and we have to rush out the door late for things?! It’s okay not to be the perfect parent. It is not okay to make a kid wonder how their parent feels about them. Love your kids hard because they will remember that far more than the times you sent them to their room just so you didn’t have to listen to “mom she (insert whatever life shattering thing a sister did such as breath)!” You guys are crushing it!

Thanks for stopping by guys! And for letting me share. Tell me about your awesome kids! We should always brag about them!

2 thoughts on “Friday Post that is not about books…

  1. Anonymous says:

    I remember that story about little miss Ali ๐Ÿ™‚ I love how all my kids are so different! My Koti bear is the confident diva ๐Ÿ™‚ she’s sassy and loving and would do anything for her little brothers! Logan is the shy, quiet type with the kindest biggest heart but also incredibly sensitive (even though he tries so hard to be a tough guy). And final Mr. Karsey-beary is the class clown, super outgoing, the first to raise his hand (even if he doesn’t have the right answer he is confident in the answers he does have). Dang I love my kiddos. I love your post my little Breezy! Thank you for sharing! I can never get enough of hearing about amazing kiddos and their amazing parents ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    • Briana R. says:

      Haha that is one thing I love about having such a big family! Everyone brings something totally different to the family! Thanks for sharing about your awesome (although ridiculously old kids- because how did that happen?!!) kids! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

