Review of The White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter

Hey Word Nerds (I will never stop loving that btw!) and happy Friday! This week feels like it has flown by thank gosh! Although that may be bad also because Fall is officially here (ick!) and my new college term for my Senior year will be starting on Monday (double ick!)! Which means that I will probably be way worse at keeping up to date with my poor blog because I started it in the summer when I did not have classes to worry about. So fingers crossed people because we know how well I kept on top of it when I didn’t have to stuff my head with boring text books!

So I decided to review a series of books because I maybe just maybe forgot to read something for today and I searched my Goodreads account for something to talk about haha and then I remembered that I just bought the 4th book in this series so I figured why not! So without further ado let’s get down to business!

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

If anyone had told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real.

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies.

-Description from Goodreads for books one Alice in Zombieland

Okay you guys! You may or may not remember I have a slight obsession with zombies which is almost equal to my obsession of the written word. When I saw this books cool cover and awesome title I didn’t even bother to read the back of the book to find out what it was about. I just went for it with no shame!!

alice-in-zombieland

Isn’t that just an awesome looking cover?! So for those of you that DO judge a book by its cover you totally get it right? Of course you do! So I bought the first three all at one time because honestly, I like to live dangerous and even if I didn’t like them the covers were at least pretty!

White Rabbit Chronicles.jpg

Right?! And now I want an awesome pink thrown looking chair in my house… That will go on the planning board for my up and coming office/library! Anyways, back on track here! Those covers had me convinced that I needed those books. Now. So I bought them (months and months ago husband! I know you check this to follow my purchase history haha) and gave them a shot!

My Thoughts:
I am a huge fan of retellings that remind me of books I loved as a kid. I always have been so it is easy to sucker me in with such a promise haha. This particular series was very loosely based on the OG Alice. Which was actually fine! You guys! This book was a very very different take on zombies and I find that I loved the concept. I don’t want to spoil anything for you guys because you know how I feel about that but I feel that I have a smidge more room to talk since this is not a brand new series and the synopsis for the books gives you pretty detailed info (in my opinion) so whatevs. Basically these zombies aren’t your typical brains eating mindless friends and loved ones dead and reanimated. Well they do die and reanimate but they come back for your soul. Yep friends- you read that right. Soul eating zombies.

While I sometimes found myself getting frustrated with the characters and their obnoxious teen angst the concept itself was great and the one-liners thrown around with sass really helped me keep going on. I found that I actually really enjoyed these three books and I can’t wait to read the fourth. The great debate is now on whether or not I re-read the first three before the fourth! Probably because I like to know what is going on with the minimal amount of confusion possible! Good call self!

My Recommendation:
So for book one I gave it 4/5 stars, book two got a little less with 3/5 stars because if I recall correctly this is where the teen angst really almost killed it for me, and then book three brought it back with a 4/5 stars. I am super excited to see how they fare after another read through and what book 4 will look like! I say that if you are a zombie lover who is always looking for a new twist on an old story line this will be right up your ally! Do not go into this series expecting a whole lot of Alice in Wonderland because that may set you up for disappointment. But overall I definitely think this series is worth a read and it is just in time to start getting you in the Halloween spirit! So go read them and tell me what you think! I love to get other readers opinions!

Want to know where to connect with the author Gena Showalter and other fans?

  1. Official Facebook fan page!
  2. Instagram
  3. Twitter
  4. Website!

As always I hope you all have a fantastic weekend!! Let me know what you think of the books! Adios bitchachos! (I have seriously been waiting to use that!)

Leave a Reply

