Review of Advance by KA Duggsy

Happy Monday word nerds! Welcome back for another exciting chapter of book reviews! In my head I totally said that like a game show host and it was fabulous. Without the orange spray tan of course. I wonder what my theme song would be!?! Okay okay… back to the review! The lovely KA Duggsy has been waiting for this dang thing for basically forever! Poor lady had to put up with my snail-like pace because of school but alas! Here it is! And she doesn’t even know it yet because I didn’t update my Goodreads yet. I like surprises haha. Well that and I finished the book at like 11PM and basically crashed after reading it! Not because it was bad but because my bedtime is like 9 haha. So without further ado or ridiculous commentary….

The first book in a dystopian romance trilogy.

“Time is something we can’t control. We may think we have plenty of it but it ticks past so quickly, before we know it, its run out.”

Faith Elaina is a reporter in the new world. She has no friends and no family… or so she believes. When she is approached with an intriguing tale by a homeless man claiming to be the missing Professor Laudnam, she finds herself agreeing to embark on a fact-finding mission to expose Advance Industries. They are a multi-national corporation and leaders of scientific breakthroughs. They push the boundaries in experimentation in order to sell viable products to the market. Their latest invention known as Advance is the most exciting yet. A system designed to transport humans from one place to another efficiently and effectively.
Faith sets out to save those incapable of saving themselves.
But who really needs saving?
Are the people she’s trying to help really trustworthy?
As the story she’s chasing unfolds, Faith realises how inexplicably intertwined her life really is with Advance Industries. When the formidable Kye steams into her life knocking it off kilter even more, he has her head spinning and her heart fluttering. Handsome, confusing and full of strange endearments, he also has a story to tell. But who should she believe?
Can she regain her supposed lost memories? And if so, can she hold on to them long enough to achieve her goal? Especially when the loved ones she forgot about are in danger!

This is the first book in a trilogy. If you are allergic to over the top mushiness or cannot stomach excessive bad language, this book isn’t for you.

-Amazon description!

My thoughts:
I love a good dystopian book and I am a sucker for romance so of course I was super excited when I got to foster KA Duggsy during the #FosterAnAuthor2 even that we participated in awhile ago (which is how I found the lovely KA Duggsy!) and then the week flew by like nobodies business and I didn’t get to post my review in time which was lame because people need to know about this book. It has a swoon worthy hunk of course and I think one of the things I enjoyed about him was the fact that he wasn’t all alpha male. He was more of a “do whatever I have to to take back my lady love!” which was a nice shake up. (Don’t be crazy I love my alphas too!) I think that the book didn’t really get into too much of what was going on behind the love story which was a little disappointing only in the sense that something crazy was going on and I want to know all of the things. On that same note though I have only gotten to read book 1 so far and it is a trilogy so I think that as it goes on we will get more of the craziness. This book was a roller coaster and I found myself yelling at our characters to get it together and just love each other haha. I think Duggsy did a great job of giving the book a little angst but not anything that was just over the top ridiculous and I really like that. It wasn’t like one thing piled on top of another! Advance was definitely a good jump off point and I can’t wait to see where the next two books take me.

My Recommendation:
I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars for sure! I really like that it wasn’t really a zombie apocalypse situation (*gasp!* I know I can’t believe I said that either!) but only because I think it’s cool to see an author’s idea of how the plot will play out. Overall I definitely recommend this book! So go read it and let me know what you thought!

Buy it here —-> Advance

Want to stalk the author? Here are some helpful links!

  1. Amazon author page
  2. Facebook page
Leave a Reply

