Review of The True Story of Atticus and Hazel by Fisher Amelie

Hey word nerds! I don’t normally post on Thursday but I couldn’t wait for tomorrow because THIS FREAKING BOOK! You guys I can’t even explain it. But I will try and I will try not to get ahead of myself here so without further ado…

atticus-and-hazel

It only took a second.

Overwhelming chemistry isn’t something anyone ever prepares you for. It’s not like your mama sits you down and warns you one day you might stumble upon someone impossible to resist, someone who sets your soul on fire. Combustible, explosive attraction is just the tip of the iceberg for Atticus Kelly and Hazel Stone. One touch between them can set them on fire, one word from their lips can send them careening, one look can cripple them to their knees. They are an inferno and they’re approaching the end of their wick.

Burning too fast, way too fast.

Except there’s nothing to temper the fever.

And the ramifications may be more than they can afford.

Everyone knows when it goes up in flames, there’s no saving the kindling.

The decision only took a second. Just a second.

“Hazel, what happened?”

-Description on Amazon.com

My Thoughts:
I actually had to stop and think about this book. I literally read it in mere hours because I could not put it down. I don’t know why I haven’t heard of Fisher Amelie before but holy cow! First of all- look at that freaking cover art! I checked out some of her other books and they are all equally amazing. Like I want to buy them all and frame them ❤ Probably the top 5 in covers (and you guys know how terrible I am at judging by the cover) and that is not a stretch. After the cover pulls you in and gets you excited the words inside tear you apart and make you fall in love all at the same time. This is no exaggeration. It has almost a poetic flow at times and for how terrible I am at highlighting the parts of books I love (don’t worry- it was a kindle! I cannot bring myself to mark my loves!) I did so fairly often in this book. The flow is simply impeccable. While reading I could feel the chaos inside of me and the magic of falling in love with someone so hard and so fast was done so well it didn’t feel like insta-love. Fisher pulled me in and made me feel her words. This book brought back the feelings from The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon which is one of my favorites that I will read until I am dead. The raw power was beautiful and just so much. Even now- after sleeping on my thoughts and stewing on it I can’t find the right words to paint the picture that is The True Story of Atticus and Hazel but Fisher Amelie can and she does so in such an amazing way! Go read this book right now so you can feel the magic.

I also feel like I need to tell you how much I love “gosh damn!” I am not going to lie (and some of you already know this) but I do a lot of editing in my head when I read haha I will take out a lot of sex scenes and occasionally just skip over “bad words.” Not because I am judgy but because cussing is weird to me (for the record my BFF and husband swear like a couple of sailors so I am not saying boo to you swear word lovers!) and honestly sex scenes make me blush and I read in a lot of random places that make it all that more awkward haha. Yes there was swearing but every one said gosh damn instead of the much popular alternative and I kind of loved that! At first I just thought it was a character thing but then they were all saying it and Fisher sealed the deal on my obsession ❤ this was a random side note that I forgot I wanted to mention so it probably feels random in the grand scheme of this post but whatevs. 😀

My Recommendation:
Seriously at least a million stars out of 5. It was chaos and love. Color and music. It was everything so perfectly put together to bring this book to life and I will forever be obsessed. I wish I had a way with words you guys because I feel like I am not doing this book the justice it deserves. It’s perfect. That’s it- perfect ❤

Want to know where to stalk Fisher Amelie? Well look below for some helpful links!

  1. Amazon author page
  2. Facebook fan page
  3. Instagram
  4. Twitter
  5. Goodreads

So read this amazing book and tell me what you think!!!

Leave a Reply

