Review of The Bird and the Sword by Amy Harmon

Hello and happy Friday word nerds! If you are like me you’re almost sad it is the weekend because you spent the whole week trapped in the house with kids who ready to go back to school but couldn’t because of the stupid evil snow. And if you aren’t like me well then congrats you jerk! I hope you have a fabulous weekend. Okay okay, I didn’t mean it! You guys aren’t jerks, you’re just lucky and I am jealous haha. I am not a big fan of being cold or wet and snow is both of those mixed together so this last week in Southern Oregon has been ridiculous! But I will say that it gave me time to read two awesome books that I loved for so many reasons and I decided that people needed to know about said amazing books but you will have to wait for one (unless you cheat and check out my Goodreads page and if you do that we may as well be friends!) so I figured I would talk about the second one I read now so that everyone can realize how crazy they are for not reading this sooner (I am one of those crazies so don’t feel bad!) but before I do I wanted to share with you something I learned this week. I am a *horrible* buddy reader! Like the worst ever! I was supposed to read this book with Jen and I forgot and started it without telling her and then I confused it for another book that I have to read to save our friendship on top of that. Yep. Worst buddy reader ever. I just felt like I had to put that out there and get it off of my chest. Now we can continue on with the fun stuff! So without further ado…..

bird-and-the-sword

Swallow, daughter, pull them in, those words that sit upon your lips. Lock them deep inside your soul, hide them ‘til they’ve time to grow. Close your mouth upon the power, curse not, cure not, ‘til the hour. You won’t speak and you won’t tell, you won’t call on heaven or hell. You will learn and you will thrive. Silence, daughter. Stay alive.

The day my mother was killed, she told my father I wouldn’t speak again, and she told him if I died, he would die too. Then she predicted the king would sell his soul and lose his son to the sky.
My father has a claim to the throne, and he is waiting in the shadows for all of my mother’s words to come to pass. He wants desperately to be king, and I just want to be free.
But freedom will require escape, and I’m a prisoner of my mother’s curse and my father’s greed. I can’t speak or make a sound, and I can’t wield a sword or beguile a king. In a land purged of enchantment, love might be the only magic left, and who could ever love . . . a bird?

-Description on Goodreads

My Thoughts:
Okay, I have read a few books by Amy Harmon (The Book of Moses was the absolute best book ever and almost destroyed my heart!) and she seriously never fails me! Her books are all amazing and the Bird and the Sword is no exception. The writing is well done and pulls the reader in, leaving them on the edge of their seats wanting to know what happens next. There is a little bit of action for those of you that love a good adrenaline rush and they are done so well that even if action isn’t your thing you still want to read it. This is a book about growing and standing for what you believe in even at the risk of disagreement and adversity. It is using your voice, even if you can’t speak, to help do good for others and to make a difference. Lark is a beautiful character who learns to fight even when she thinks that she can’t do much and King Tiras is the King who wants to protect his people. I think that something really great came from their relationship because Lark learned to be bold and speak her thoughts but Tiras learned that it is okay to let your guard down sometimes.

My Recommendation:
A solid 4 out of 5 stars. It was a fun fantasy read with love thrown in. The writing was so well done and Lark was such a great character that I recommend this book to everyone! It is fun to visit the land of fantasy sometimes and this book is a great escape there. I am glad I stopped dragging my feet and finally read this book! I love a good Amy Harmon story and this is another to add to the list of rereads for sure!

And as always here are some ways you can stalk this wonderful author!

  1. Facebook author page
  2. Twitter
  3. Instagram (with awesome artwork!)

 

2 thoughts on “Review of The Bird and the Sword by Amy Harmon

Leave a Reply

