Review of Heartless by Marissa Meyer

As some of you may or may not know I am obsessed with fairy tale retellings. I absolutely love them and then when they are remade with a twist I basically die and go to fangirl heaven (which I am told is real). Marissa Meyer has a fantastic series called the Lunar Chronicles which is really a bunch of different fairy tales wrapped up in one… well like 5 or 6 haha. But anyways! Let’s focus on Heartless!

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

That’s right people! An Alice in Wonderland retelling like none other! It really is great! And I love Alice in Wonderland! It is just so wild and always changing so when I get a chance to read a story that takes it and runs wild I grab on ASAP. I will be honest (as always), it was good at the start but not anything wildly amazing. I definitely liked it but more of a 3.5/4 star kind of like. AND THEN!!! AND THEN THE FREAKING ENDING HAPPENED!!! It was like a sucker punch to the face! It did not go how I thought it would AT ALL! Not even a tiny tiny bit! And that alone seriously pushed it to a 5 star book. I try to reserve 5 stars for books that I would or do plan on re-reading and that end alone will have me feeling lost and sad until the next book comes out! Which apparently it is not because I just looked on Meyer’s blog and this is listed as a stand alone. My heart is shattered all over again! I can’t even take it. Although I do see how that ending could be the very end. And I think that I would be okay with that because I love a book that has an ending so intense and so unpredictable that it throws you off balance. Some of the best books end in such a way that you can’t decide if you want more or if the ending was really just the perfect place for the characters.

I definitely recommend this book! Especially if you love a book that hits you in the feels and makes you feel both broken and happy at the same time. Although happy in this instance is simply that the book turned out to be amazing. I also feel that it is important to note that this book is really just a good book! So while there is a romance in the story line it isn’t in your face. It is sweet and full of hope and just so perfect. So you’re welcome for sharing the heartbreak! Also- I think I am obsessed with hardbacks again because if you look at the featured image how perfect not only the dust jacket is but the actual book itself! Swoon!

Let me know what you think of the book when you are all done reading it!! And sorry for the bland post today. I really just wanted to talk about this book so there was no plan here, just words.

Leave a Reply

