Review of The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

Happy Monday word nerds. Sadly the weekend is gone and it is back to the grind. I hope everyone had an amazing weekend! Mine was the best! Nothing like a girls day followed up by a hot date to make the weekend totally amazing! But back to reality!! Let’s talk books!!

I’ve been following her for the past few days. I know where she buys her groceries, where she works. I don’t know the color of her eyes or what they look like when she’s scared. But I will.

One night, Mia Dennett enters a bar to meet her on-again, off-again boyfriend. But when he doesn’t show, she unwisely leaves with an enigmatic stranger. At first Colin Thatcher seems like a safe one-night stand. But following Colin home will turn out to be the worst mistake of Mia’s life.

When Colin decides to hide Mia in a secluded cabin in rural Minnesota instead of delivering her to his employers, Mia’s mother, Eve, and detective Gabe Hoffman will stop at nothing to find them. But no one could have predicted the emotional entanglements that eventually cause this family’s world to shatter.

An addictively suspenseful and tautly written thriller, The Good Girl is a propulsive debut that reveals how even in the perfect family, nothing is as it seems.

I started this book on audio format from my library but seriously right before the end of it my rental expired and the list was about 20 people long so instead I went bargain hunting and found a used copy for $5 so I finished like the last 10 pages in book form. But I HAD TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED!!!!!! This book is a bit slow but if you want a slower paced read this is definitely a good choice. It is interesting enough that the slow pace is not a problem. And definitely towards the end it picks up for a huge finish that I did not see coming. The characters all played their parts well in the story and were formed in such a way that you felt like you either knew them or knew someone like them.

Mia Dennett is a young naive girl with big dreams who isn’t all she seems to be. The younger sister who was never good enough, she is the young dreamer who wanted more from life. She is an interesting character and I honestly don’t know how I feel about her. At first I really liked her but towards the end I just thought she was a bit childish and didn’t really know how to go about things in a mature and less harmful manner.

Colin Thatcher. Oh Colin. Poor misguided man who just wants to take care of his mother. He was an interesting character and definitely not what I started out thinking he was. He is a great character overall.

Detective Gabe Hoffman was theĀ epitome of good guy. He genuinely wanted to get the job done and find Mia. It is nice to find a character that is simple and enjoyable. And I don’t mean simple in the sense he was flat. Simple in he had a job and he wanted to do it right. He didn’t have drama surrounding him. It was really nice.

Eve Dennett was a distraught mother and she was written well. She was worried about her daughter and I think the book was really about her realizing that she didn’t always do what was best for artistic and hopeful daughter. She was a real character and I appreciated that.

Overall I think I give this book a 3.5 stars. Part of that comes from the fact that I will probably not reread the story. I think that the book was great and you guys will like it! Let me know what you think after you read it!

Leave a Reply

