Review of Throne of Glass Sarah J. Maas

Hey word nerds! Happy hump day! I am so exhausted this week but as always I found time for books! If you haven’t guessed by now I am newly obsessed with Sarah J Maas and basically anything she writes. I started with the first two books of the Court of Thorns and Roses (“patiently” awaiting book three!!!) and decided that I needed more Maas and decided to give Throne of Glass a try. Thank you kindle for instant gratification because dang! So without further ado…

“Nothing is a coincidence. Everything has a purpose. You were meant to come to this castle, just as you were meant to be an assassin.”

When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King’s Champion and be released from prison.

Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her.

And a princess from a foreign land will become the one thing Celaena never thought she’d have again: a friend.

But something evil dwells in the castle—and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying, horribly, one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival—and a desperate quest to root out the source of the evil before it destroys her world.

One thing that I absolutely love about Maas’ books are her female characters. They are strong kick ass kind of ladies with a heaping topping of wit and sarcasm and attitude for days. There are many many forms of a strong character (my friend and I were actually talking about this yesterday!) and I think that all of the books that Sarah J. Maas has written are done amazing because it is not only the lead female that is kick ass. The side characters who may play a smaller role are just as awesome!

Calaena is a young woman with a sad past but she fought hard to survive and continues to do so when we meet her in Throne of Glass. She is mouthy and isn’t afraid to say what she wants. I love her. She is still young and she has a lot to learn but with the people helping her she will get there. I love her spirit and honestly her heart. She has not been hardened by her life as one would imagine. I could probably go on all day about my obsession with her. The girl crush is real!

I think my second favorite character from this book is Chaol, the Captain of the Guard. He has a duty that he takes very seriously but as he watches Calaena and learns more and more about her he learns that stories are not all a person is. We get to watch him grow in this book and I for one cannot wait to see him in book two!

The Crowned Prince, Dorian Havilliard.  Hmm I am still pretty on the fence about this guy. Yeah, he’s cute and all prince-ish but he’s also a little bit of a coward in my opinion. I know it is scary and unsafe for basically every single person for him to outright defy his father but he even admits that he should be doing more than he really is. I guess we will give him a shot in book two.

Overall I loved this book, not as much as A Court of Mist and Fury because obviously Rhysand is all things but I still loved it and can’t wait to start book two, Crown of Midnight, today at some point! Definitely a 5 star read for me! I am obsessed! Let me know what you guys think of this book! Or the series, but for real, no spoilers! I will catch up I swear haha!

 

One thought on “Review of Throne of Glass Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

