God Shaped Hole by Tiffanie Debartolo

Hey word nerds! Long time no reviews! I feel like a loser since all I have been posting are dang release day things! But that is because I have been stuck on God Shaped Hole much longer than most books. Normally I can read so fast it’s like boom done! Not with God Shaped Hole. At first when I was reading this book I was getting frustrated because I thought it was the book was just so slow and that is why it was taking me forever. Nope. It is because this book needs to be read slowly so that you can savor everything that is Beatrice and Jacob.

They are like a slow burn. You don’t realize how much it is going to hurt when you reach the end because you don’t realize how much you are actually invested in them until everything is said and done.

I actually only picked up this book and How to Kill a Rockstar because I am going to a retreat in June that Tiffanie will be at and I didn’t want to meet her blindly because what if she was amazing and I didn’t know it until after?! I am glad that I had that thought process because wow.

As I have stated about a million times, I love books that are real and make you feel. This was done almost in a journal-ish style from Beatrice’s point of view and it was just about living life. It was a beautiful story of love and anguish. As I write this I can still feel the tears wanting to break free. My heart feels incomplete. The feelings are real and I love each of them.

I give this book a solid 4 out of 5 stars. If you want a book that needs to be savored and will sneak into your soul and remind you about falling in love and all of the things that go with it get God Shaped Hole. It is the kind of book you will read and then just stare out the window and try to process what happened. Now if you will excuse me, I have some Jack Johnson and tissues waiting for me.

When I was twelve, a fortune teller told me that my one true love would die young and leave me all alone.
Everyone said she was a fraud, that she was just making it up.
I’d really like to know why the hell a person would make up a thing like that.
Written with the snap, glitter and wit of The Girl’s Guide to Hunting and Fishing, God-Shaped Hole is a memorable, poignant love story that will leave you weeping with laughter. It is told in the wry, vulnerable voice of Beatrice “Trixie” Jordan who replies to a personal ad, “If your intentions are pure I am seeking a friend for the end of the world.”
In doing so, she meets Jacob Grace, a charming, effervescent thirty-something writer, a free spirit who is a passionate seeker of life. He possesses his own turn of phrase and ways of thinking and feeling that dissonantly harmonize with Trixie’s off-center vision as they roller coaster through the joys and furies of their wrenching romance. Along the way they try to come to terms with the hurt brought about by their distant fathers who, in different ways, forsook them.
This story will prove so touching you will rush to share it with a friend or loved one or even a stranger.

 

Leave a Reply

