First and Goal by Kata Čuić

Happy May Day word nerds! I can’t believe how close we are to summer finally!!! This weekend I finally managed to get some reading in (thank you Drive to California!) and actually have a review for you today! How exciting right?! So without further ado…

Eva Papageorgiou has one goal: to make it through her senior year of high school unseen and unscathed. But when her strategy to stay out of the limelight is derailed by rampant rumors, she’s forced to change tactics. Her new game plan is to keep everyone at arm’s length. Especially boys. So when she’s partnered up in class with the hot as hell varsity quarterback, she pushes and pushes.

Until he pushes back.

Rob Falls just wants to fit in. With his teammates, with his friends, with everyone. His image as the quintessential jock makes him feel like a fraud. Especially since it’s the only reason all the girls at school want him, except the one girl he dreams about. She wants nothing to do with him. When he’s forced to tutor the class pariah, he realizes it’s time to get in the game instead of standing on the sidelines.

She’s going to help him get exactly what he wants, whether she knows it or not.

Life doesn’t come with a playbook, but Rob knows this could be the most important play he’ll ever make.

First and Goal is book one in The Moving the Chains series. It ends on a cliffhanger.
(Like a huge giant cliffhanger!!!!)

So Kala is a very new to me author that I found during an author hop thingy during Valentines Day. I am always trying to meet new authors and expand my reading (which is crazy since I am basically always behind on my tbr pile but whatever!) and so when she sent out the first two books in her series for free when you signed up for her newsletter through the hop I figured what better time to meet a new author!

I am not going to lie. High School aged characters are not my favorite. The female characters tend to be portrayed as whiny and obnoxious. I feel like Eva fit that description to a T. I am not a huge fan of girls that are made out as horrible mean girls (as she was to Rob) and then to top it off think the absolute worst of themselves. It is just a preference so nobody throw stones haha. I had troubled connecting with her throughout the story. I would kind of swing between loving her and really not being a fan.

I will say that overall the story was okay. Definitely worthy of a quick summer read- but be prepared for the huge cliffhanger! Because right about the time I think that Eva may not be so bad something insane happens! And now I have to go read Second Down because I need to know what the heck is going on!

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars! When you read it let me know what you guys think!

Leave a Reply

