Review of Sunshine Bleeds a Black Edge by A Wilding Wells.

Hey word nerds! Hope you are all having a lovely Saturday! I don’t have much witty banter to start out with so let’s just get down to it…

Ruby Mae
Some people would say running away from your problems won’t solve them, but it might have saved me. I was the only one who knew the truth about the events of that unforgettable night, or so I thought. My glamorous life in Paris as a world-famous model was a great distraction and ensured I didn’t dwell on the past. I tried to forget everything I lost, until an anonymously sent box arrived and flipped my world upside down. The contents of it my ruin, but was it also the answer to my seventeen years of whys? And if I go back home, will the man I left behind still be waiting for me?

Rebel
I have no right to stake a claim to her even though I told her I’d wait for her in our tiny hometown of Snowvale, Wisconsin.
So maybe I lied. Sure, I moved on. Well, sort of. Yeah, I married, had a kid who’s cool as hell and now a teenager. But here I am, still running my successful hardware store, and claiming the title of the most eligible bachelor in town. I ought to be over the moon with my life, but it’s missing one thing. Her. Ruby Mae Rose. And local gossip says, she’s coming home. Will she finally give me what I’ve always wanted—Answers and a Forever?

Murder, mystery, darkness, and comedy collide in a tornado of small town family drama wrapped in second chances. Addictive, quirky, all-too-human characters, meets heartwarming, un-putdownable page after page of surprising twists and turns.

First of all, I absolutely love all of A. Wilding Wells’ covers! Seriously, they are absolutely beautiful! And her titles are always creative.

Oh Rebel with your steamy brooding and a foul mouth! I am not going to lie though, this guy was a real big a$$ hole at the beginning of the book! But he also wasn’t afraid to admit how much he wanted Ruby once he was done making her feel horrible.

Ruby Mae ❤ she was a really fun character! I enjoyed her sassy mouth but I wished that she would pick a side- be sassy or be a damsel. And I was not a big fan of the whole “I have a secret but I can’t tell you… Okay I will tell you this one thing… but that is it!” I feel like it was used to move the plot along which was disappointing.

This is the second book I have read by this particular author, the first one being Mastering the Art of a Three Ring Circus. I am not going to lie, there is just something about A. Wilding Wells writing style that I just do not click with. Don’t get me wrong, she is not a bad writer, I just can’t find myself getting into her books and I feel like two was a fair shot. I really want to stress that is just a preference thing, her writing is done well and the plotlines are pretty crazy so definitely worth reading! I give this book 3 stars because, while I didn’t get sucked into the story, it was still a good book that was done well.

Leave a Reply

