Review of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Happy Monday word nerds! I hope everyone had a great weekend! It was so sunny and warm here so the monsters and I basically lived outside haha. It was also the perfect weekend to get some quality reading in and at the gentle urging of my lovely friend MB I decided to give Six of Crows a try. I am not going to lie, I bought this book before I knew what it was because it is so pretty haha. But now I am doubly glad I have it! So without further ado…

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.

So as I said my friend MB was basically talking about how amazing this book is and how everyone needed to read it so after I rushed through some stuff I had I decided it was time! Ugh I am so mad that I sat on this book so long!!!! Seriously!!

“When everyone knows you’re a monster, you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.”

Kaz Brekker… Can I just say up front I love him. He is a clever boy who learned how to survive even if it meant that others had to lose. He is smart and always has a plan (until he doesn’t) and he is horrible about letting everyone in on said plan. He doesn’t trust easy and he forgives even less.

“She’d laughed, and if he could have bottled the sound and gotten drunk on it every night, he would have. It terrified him.”

Inej Ghafa, a girl stolen from her family and thrust into a life she was too good for. Seriously my favorite character. I cannot pinpoint what it is about her that makes her my favorite but I love her! She is strong and willing to do what needs to be done, even if it costs her a little piece of her heart to do so.

“No Mourners.
No Funerals.”

Jesper Fahey… a boy with secrets and addictions. He has a smart mouth that often gets him in trouble… But he also manages to bring a lightness to situations that require it.

“Stay,” she panted. Tears leaked from her eyes. “Stay till the end.”

Nina Zenik, a great friend to who have! She loves her people and will take care of them always, even when there are consequences to herself. A warrior who puts her people first.

“I’m going to get Wylan’s ghost to teach my ghost how to play the flute just so that I can annoy the hell out of your ghost.”

Wylan Van Eck, always underestimated… until he’s not. Wylan starts off as a kind of obnoxious tagalong who becomes a friend and talent that many doubted. I love that he is not (yet) hardened by the Barrel.

I have been made to protect you. Only in death will I be kept from this oath.

Matthias Hevlar… a man torn between duty and heart. He starts as a character you want to just punch in the face! But then at some point, he weasels his way onto your good side without you even realizing what has happened.

Leigh Bardugo created a world and characters that I wanted to be with all day and night. All of them more than they seem at the surface level. I am definitely in love with these characters and I can’t wait to continue on their adventure in Crooked Kingdom. A 5 star read for sure!! Let me know what you guys thought of the book! I could talk about it all day!!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

