Review of The History In Us by L.B. Dunbar

Happy Friday word nerds! I hope you are all excited for the weekend! I know I am!! So I figure that since I get some of my best reading in on the weekends I would take this opportunity to tell you guys about L.B. Dunbar’s newest book that just released today!! So without further ado…

Are you a hero yet?
Her words rang in my head.
I wanted to be.
For you, I want to be, I told her in my dream, the dream where she kissed me again.

A hero-worthy kiss.

Stay safe, she had said. Come back to me.
My lips tingled.
The brush of hers over mine a memory held in the blackest of night,
the hottest of desert days,
and the cold-evil hell of war against hidden enemies.

I wanted another chance to taste those lips,
melt them against mine,
and mold her body to me.
I wanted to live.
For Katie

So this is the first book I have read of L.B. Dunbar. To date, I have only read stuff from her alter ego, Elda Lora so I figured it was time to change that!

The premise of this book and the story itself were really good. It was a sweet story about hope and being able to move forward in life after everything hasn’t gone as planned. I found the transitions between chapters to be a little rough, it felt like there were just huge jumps in time to kind of keep things moving which was a little disappointing. Overall I think that this was a sweet story that showed how important communication is!

Katie is a girl who suffers from low self-esteem that stems from her mother. She is a sweet hometown girl looking for her mom who abandonded her as a child. I feel like that plotline behind Katie’s move was a little last minute feeling, like the author felt like she had to have a reason to place Katie in Chicago but really the story on its own is great and probably did not need this little bit.

Levi is the epitome of small town boy going off to find himself and joins the military. I really liked his back story and his character. He was so dang frustrating because I just wanted him to go get Katie and stop living in his head! But then I understand why he was struggling so much and I am just glad that he had Katie.

Overall I give this book 3.5 stars out of 5. It was a sweet read and will be a great summer read.

Leave a Reply

