Review of How to Kill a Rockstar by Tiffanie DeBartolo

Hello word nerds! I finished this awesome book last week but I just did not have the words for it. Then I went to the amazing 2nd annual PLN retreat and I actually got to meet and hug Tiffanie DeBartolo (more on this as soon as I can organize my pictures and my brain!)!! So I am hoping that I can now find the words to explain this book to you guys! So without further ado…

Written in her wonderfully honest, edgy, passionate and often hilarious voice, Tiffanie DeBartolo tells the story of Eliza Caelum, a young music journalist, and Paul Hudson, a talented songwriter and lead singer of the band Bananafish. Eliza’s reverence for rock is equaled only by Paul’s, and the two fall wildly in love.

When Bananafish is signed by a big corporate label, and Paul is on his way to becoming a major rock star, Eliza must make a heartbreaking decision that leads to Paul’s sudden disappearance and a surprise knock-your-socks-off ending.

Tiffanie knows how to write characters that you just love and wish you could actually know in real life and that is one of my favorite things about this book! I want to know everyone in it! I want to eat weird ice cream and go to shows and just listen to amazing music that can change lives.

“It sounds silly, I know. But for me, the power of music rests in its ability to reach inside and touch the places where the deepest cuts lie.
Like a benevolent god, a good song will never let you down.
And sometimes, when you’re trying to find your way, one of those gods actually shows up and gives you directions.”

TWhile reading this book I found myself wanting to throw my book and scream but at the same time hold it tight and pretend everything was going to be okay. One song can save a person’s life and this book makes me believe that. It makes me want to live in a world where we all have a soundtrack and it follows us around so we can always show people how our soul feels.

“Tell me what you listen to, and I’ll tell you who you are.”

How to Kill a Rockstar is a great book full of all of the feelings and pulls the reader in so much so that I wanted to move to New York and live in Eliza and Paul’s crappy appartment in hopes of feeling just a little bit of the magic from the book.

This ending is not something I was expecting! It was pulled off in such a perfect way that I may never move on from this book ever!

“Nobody, and I mean nobody, ever started a revolution playing by the rules”

Seriously, a million and one stars for this book! It made me feel everything and I will probably wear this copy out before I am ever done reading it and re-reading it. PLEASE PLEASE read this book so we can talk about it! The first time I read it nobody else in my circle had read it yet so I had to go through the emotions all alone so read this so we can talk about it!!!

Buy it here! (not an affiliate- just obsessed!)

Amazon
Barnes and Nobel

Leave a Reply

